The Restoration of Gilbertine Spirituality

Gilbertine Kalendar

Home | Historical Gilbertines | Modern Restoration Efforts | Ministry-to-Charism | Yahoo Group | Guestbook | Contact Us

The Gilbertines followed the lunar Roman calendar, which has been difficult at best to interpret.  The feasts were determined by the phase of the moon, but when compared to the modern calendar, many feasts are still listed.
We feel those adapting Gilbertian spirituality would be better off simply honoring the saints whom the Gilbertines honored on the dates indicated on the modern calendar, rather than attempting to follow the lunar Kalendar--at least until we learn more about the Roman monastic lunar calendar.
If a saint is not designated for a particular day, it should be considered a ferial day ("Ordinary Time"). We will also reserve the right to use the Anglican Breviary, which was developed from ancient usage.
This page is still under construction.

1    Circumcision of the Lord
2    Octave of St Stephen Martyr
3    Octave of St John the Apostle
4    Octave of the Holy Innocents, Martyrs
5    Octave of St Thomas, Archbishop of Canterbury, Martyr
6    Epiphany
10  St Paul, first hermit
13  Octave of the Epiphany
15  St Edward, King and Confessor
16  St Marcellinus, Pope and Martyr
17  Three Martyrs named Speusippi, Eleusippi, & Meleusippi
18  St Priscilla, Virgin and Martyr
20  Sts Fabian and Sebastian, Martyrs
21  St Agnes, Virgin and Martyr
22  St Vincent, Martyr
23  St Emerentia, Virgin and Martyr
25  Conversion of St Paul, Apostle and Martyr
28  Second Agnes

1    St Ignatius, Bishop and Martyr; St Brigid, Virgin
2    Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary
3    St Blaise, Bishop and Martyr
5    St Agatha, Virgin and Martyr
6    Sts "Uedasti et Amandi eporum"
10  St Sotheria, Virgin and Martyr; Scholastica, Virgin
14  St Valentine, Martyr;  Vitalis and Companions, Martyrs
16  St Juliana, Virgin
21  Chair of St Peter
23  St Matthew, Apostle

1    St Albert, Bishop and Confessor
7    Sts Perpetua and Felicity, Martyrs
12  St Gregory, Pope
20  St Cuthbert, Bishop
21  St Benedict, Abbot
25  Annunciation of the Lord

4    St Ambrose, Bishop
11  St Guthlac, Priest and Confessor
14  Sts Tiburtius, Valerian, and Maximus, Martyrs
23  St George, Martyr
25  St Mark, Evangelist
26  St Cletus, Pope and Martyr
28  St Vitalis, Martyr

1    Sts Philip and James, Apostles and Martyrs
3    The Holy Cross
6    St John Before the Latin Door
7    St John,  Bishop and Confessor of Beuerlaco
10  St Gordon and Companions, Martyrs
11  St Mameritus, Bishop
12  Sts Nerius, Achillius, and Pancratus, Martyrs
19  St Dunstan, Archbishop and Confessor
23  St Desiderius, Bishop and Martyr
24  St Donatian and Rogatian, Martyrs
25  St Urban, Pope and Martyr
31  St Petronilla, Virgin

Please click here to return to the "Order of Sempringham of the Primitive Observance" page.